Connect with us


Indian Court Suspends Triple Talaq, Calling it Unconstitutional

Indian Court Suspends Triple Talaq, Calling it Unconstitutional

In a historic decision, India’s Supreme Court suspends the practice of ‘Triple Talaq – instant divorce’. Declaring it unconstitutional, three out of five judges ruled against the law of instant divorce.

This comes as a victory for Muslim women in India who have fought hard against the divorce law. Triple Talaq was an instant law where a man can divorce his wife by uttering ‘talaq’ three times. However, Muslim women in India objected against it, calling it a violation of their right to equality.

The court declared the divorce law unconstitutional and has asked the center to come up with a law within six months for Muslim marriage and divorce.

This is not the first time that a country has called off ‘triple Talaq’. Many countries including Pakistan and Bangladesh have earlier banned the instant divorce. In Iran, Triple Talaq has no validity under Sharia Law. Following is the list of countries where triple talaq is banned.

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Turkey
  • Cyprus
  • Iran
  • Tunisia
  • Algeria
  • Sri Lanka
  • Jordan
  • Indonesia
  • UAE
  • Qatar
  • Sudan
  • Morocco
  • Egypt
  • Iraq
  • Brunei
  • Malaysia


Stay Connected To Facebook

More in Trending